Clarrie Hall BASS Electric Round- 8th June 2008

A freshly risen dam and overcast conditions greeted anglers
for the second and final Clarrie Hall Dam round of the 2008 Motorguide BASS
Electric Series, 8th June. Tough conditions and an seemly absence of
legal fish was the order of the day with the 42 angler field delivering 29 fish
to the scales for the six hours of tournament angling.

Handing the challenge the best and claiming his first BASS
Electric win was 29 year old Collingwood
Park resident Dan Malloy,
2/2, 2.10kg. Fishing a rockwall lined cove in the middle reaches of the dam
Malloy used a purple coloured 1/8oz TT Switchblade hoped out from the edges to
fill his bag.

The tackle used to present his tournament winning TT blades
included a 7′ Pflueger Medalist rod, 2500 Daiwa Tierra spin reel, spooled with
6lb Berkley Crystral Fireline, and 17lb nylon leader.

Malloy’s day on the water almost didn’t occur with the event
winner having to make an urgent dash back to Murwillumbah to purchase a NSW
fishing license.

“I wasn’t the ideal start to the day, but you have to have
one to fish, and as it turned out we got back in time for the 7am start”,
explained Malloy.

Claiming the runners-up position was Murwillumbah local and
Clarrie Hall regular Andrew Dyson, 2/2, 1.88kg. Fishing the old Doon Doon Road a
short distance from the tournament start line, Dyson like many anglers in the
field opted for a jighead rigged soft plastic approach to score his fish.

“I fished the water colour change, slow hoping the lure
across the bottom in about four to six metres of water”, explained the 37 year
old basser.

The tackle used by Dyson to score his fish included a 6’8″
G.Loomis GL2 spin rod, Shimano Stradic 1000 reel, spooled with 6lb Berkley
Fireline, and 8lb Berkley Vanish leader. While his money lure was a 3″ Slider
grub in plum/chatreuse tail colour.

The next round on the MotorGuide BASS Electric Series sees
the tour travel to Lake Lenthalls 22nd June. For more information
visit or phone ABT (07) 3268 7958.


Place Angler Fish Weight (kg)
1 Dan Malloy 2 2.1
2 Andrew Dyson 2 1.88
3 Hans Jensen 2 1.65
3 Craig Floyd 2 1.65
5 Joseph Urquhart 2 1.57
6 Steve McLean 2 1.31
7 Jesper Noisen 2 1.3
8 Ian Galloway 2 1.2
9 Dave Bullard 2 1.13
10 Adrian Melchior 2 1.13
11 Scott Whitfield 1 0.93
12 Peter Jenkins 1 0.86
13 Adam Essery 1 0.76
14 Scott Sutherland 1 0.67
15 Matt Johnson 1 0.66
16 Daniel Bull 1 0.62
17 Aaron Smith 1 0.58
18 Rex Mildren 1 0.49
19 Andrew Baunach 1 0.38
20 Wayne Beggs    
20 Vinnie Bleakley    
20 Andrew Cumberland    
20 Brett Court    
20 Graeme Essery    
20 Chris Eldred    
20 Stuart France    
20 Jay Gillespie    
20 Simon Goldsmith    
20 Paul Gray    
20 Paul Gillespie    
20 Adrian Ingram    
20 Paul Kneller    
20 Craig Leal    
20 Steve Morgan    
20 Mark Muggleton    
20 Greg Main    
20 Alan Swift    
20 Brenton Smith    
20 Rod Shorten    
20 Rory Saint    
20 Simon Saint    
20 Duane Turner